CP Program

The NALA Certified Paralegal exam format consists of two sections, Knowledge and Skills. The Knowledge Exam consists of 120 multiple choice questions and the Skills Exam is an essay. Successful completion of both exam sections is required to obtain the CP credential. In order to apply for the CP program, a paralegal must first be eligible. Once an applicant has been approved they will then proceed with taking the CP Exam. 

To determine if you are eligible to take the CP exam, please select the category that best applies to you:


Learn more about CP Examinee Eligibility.


The Certified Paralegal examination is a comprehensive assessment based on federal law and procedures. Successful completion of both the Knowledge and Skills Exams are required to obtain the Certified Paralegal credential. There are two sections of the examination as described below:

    • Multiple-choice questions
    • Administered on-demand, year-round
    • Must successfully pass in order to be eligible to take the Skills Exam
    • Written assignment (essay), submitted electronically
    • Administered during four testing windows: February, April, July, October


Payment will be accepted by check, money order, credit card (Master Card, VISA, Discover, or American Express).

First Time Examinee Fees (fees cover one Knowledge Exam and one Skills Exam)

  • $250 - Members    
  • $275  - Non-members
  • $125 - Paralegal Student Member Rate
  • $150 - Paralegal Student Non-member Rate 

Retake Examinees:

  • $60 - For each subsequent attempt for either Knowledge or Skills Exams

Withdrawal, Incomplete, or Rejected Applications
If an applicant must withdraw the application, a $75 cancellation fee is required.  If the application is incomplete or rejected, the application will be denied and a $75 processing fee is required.

View the CP Program Candidate Handbook for a complete description of the program.


Note: Please be aware that certification is voluntary, and not imposed by the government. It is time-limited, which means that those who choose certification must fulfill ongoing educational requirements to keep the certification.